Saints School News

 April 15, 2019– School News

Saint Wenceslaus Catholic School Weekly Office Update

From the Office of Principal
Dear Parents, Grandparents, and Friends of SWS,

Holy Week is a special time for all Christians as we remember that God gave us the gift of an everlasting life through His son, Jesus Christ. This is a very difficult concept for each of us to understand.  Even more difficult is learning the terrible truths of the crucifixion leading to the death of Jesus Christ.

The children are taught their faith here at SWS, little by little, and year after year. This method helps children soak in all of the details so that they know God and know why we celebrate and ritualize so many things in our Catholic Christian faith.  Fully understanding what we do makes each event fuller and richer giving us greater joy, trust, and hope for our own destiny in this life and beyond. The truth about Catholic Schools is that we “do” teach in the most awesome way.

Special Guest Day Schedule
Thursday May 2

10:00-10:30 Living Rosary in Church
Guests go directly to the church and sit in any bench/meet students after the Rosary
10:30-11:15 Bingo in the gym
11:15-12:30 – Lunch ($4 per guest)
1:00 2:15- Concert (K-8 only)

Student dismissal
(special guest can check students out early- with note from parent ahead of time)

6:30 – Evening Concert (PreK – 8)

Celebrate – End of the School Year Party!
For SWS parents and teachers
Friday, May 3 – 6:00-8:00 PM

Join our school community for a night out. Burgers, beverages and some great conversation are free.
All Preschool – 8th grade parents are welcome!

Generously hosted at the home of
Bob And Kelly Connelly.

214 8th Ave NW, New Prague
(In the neighorhood behind the fire station)

CSCOE BASH
This wonderful party celebrates Catholic Schools in the Archdiocese. CSCOE is the organization that funds many of the SWS projects and initiatives. It is a great night out and a fundraiser for all of our Catholic Schools. It would be great to have a few parents and friends of SWS attend. A few of our staff members will be there! Join our table!

https://www.cscoebash.org

Shoe collection for charity
Bring your good used or barely used shoes to the collection box outside the office April 24-May 8. Shoes are sold to support programs that feed the hungry in the Minneapolis-southwest suburban area. Please, donate shoes with no tears or holes and only minor scuffing or light wear and tear on the bottom. Tie laces together or bag pairs. Thank you!

Smile Network Collections
We are still collecting funds for the Smile Network. Pennies dimes, nickles and quarters are welcome.

Financial Assistance- anyone can apply
Go to TADS.com to apply
Due May 1. (Tax returns must be submitted.)
Notification for qualification – May 15.
Open to all families.

The Schulze Early Learning Scholarship is open to students entering the 4/5-year-old preK class next fall making them one year away from entering kindergarten.

schulzefamilyfoundation.org

Calendar
OF EVENTS

 

Mon., April 15 – School Advisory Meeting 6:30 PM
Wed., April 17 – No Mass
Lenten Prayer Service 1:45
Family Groups -8:00
Thurs., April 18 – Holy Thursday – No School
Fri., April 19 – Good Friday – No School
Mon., April 22 – Easter Monday –No School
Tues., April 23 – School Resumes
Wed., April 24 – 8:00 School Mass (Gr. 7 plans)
Fri., April 26 – 1st communion breakfast for grade 2 and their 6th grade buddies.
Sat. April 27 – Tulips for Tots 9:00-10:00 AM
Wed., May 1 – 8:00 School Mass (Gr. 7 plans)
Thurs., May 2 – Special Guest day Living Rosary 10:00 AM
Spring Concert 1:00 and 6:30 PM
Fri., May 3 – Family groups lunch and recess.
Adults of SWS party – 6:00-8:00 PM
Mon.,May 6 – PreK to Como Zoo
Tues., May 7 – Home/School Meeting 6:00
Wed., May 8 – School Mass 8:00 – Grade 2 First Communion Celebration Mass
Thurs., May 9 – 8th Grade Retreat
Fri., May 10 – 8th Grade Retreat
Sat., May 11 – CSCOE BASH – 6:00-9:00 PM at Mpls. Hilton
Mon., May 13 – Grades 7/8 to Diary of Anne Frank
Tues., May 14 – Field Day K-8
Wed., May 15 – School Mass 8:00 (Gr. 3 plans)
Thurs., May 16 – Last day of 3/4 preschool
Mon., May 20 – School Advisory Meeting
Tues., May 21 – K-2 trip to the Arboretum
Wed., May 22 – Preschool Mass and Graduation
Thurs., May 23 – Alternate Field Day
Mon., May 27 – NO School – Memorial Day
Tues., May 28 – 8th gr. to Valleyfair
Wed., May 29 – 8th Gr. Graduation – 6:30 Pm
Thurs., May 30 – Last Day of School
Fri., June 14 – SWS Golf Tournament and Pot-O-Gold Drawing

POT-O-GOLD
Want to win $20,000 in cash?
This year we will be doing this fun raffle called the
POT-O-GOLD.
There will be 600 tickets sold for $100 each.
The winning raffle ticket will be drawn at the school golf tournament on June 14.
If you want to buy a ticket or if you want to sell a few tickets to friends, contact the school office. Several smaller cash prizes are included in this raffle.

Prizes: $20,000, $2000, 2x$1000, 2x$500

Our Mission

St. Wenceslaus Catholic School is a family-centered faith community, committed to the intellectual and spiritual formation of our students. We provide a high quality academic program that builds leadership and self-confidence while nurturing a loving relationship with God & encouraging service to others.

View our Annual Report and Strategic Plan

Follow Us!

ADMINISTRATION

PRINCIPAL
Kim Doyle
kim.doyle@swsaints.org
952.758.3133

PASTOR
Fr. Kevin Clinton
952.758.3225

ASSOCIATE PASTOR
Fr. Eugene Theisen
952.758.3225

ADMIN ASSISTANT
Sherry Hartman
sherry.hartman@swsaints.org
952.758.3133 ext. 117

w

CONTACT

952.758.3133

info@swsaints.org

227 Main Street East, New Prague, MN